Covid-19 Alert

NZ moves to the Traffic light system at 11:59pm on Thursday 2 December 2021 with Auckland at RED. The rest of New Zealand level is still to be decided.
Scan QR Codes & get your Vaccination Pass | Save Lives | Be Kind

Tuesday, April 12, 2022

Troy Kingi wins the 2021 APRA Silver Scrolls

Troy Kingi (Te Arawa, Ngāpuhi, Te Whānau-ā-Apanui) has won the 2021 APRA Silver Scroll Award | Kaitito Kaiaka for his funk-laden song ‘All Your Ships Have Sailed’ (published by Loop Publishing | Kobalt Publishing) taken from his nostalgia-filled record The Ghost of Freddie Cesar - the fourth album from Troy Kingi’s 10 10 10 series (10 albums in 10 years in 10 genres). 

'The Ghost of Freddie Cesar' is a deeply-personal record inspired by memories of Troy’s biological father who disappeared in 2005. While going through his father’s belongings Troy found a mysterious cassette tape with the name “Freddie Cesar” scribbled on the front – an exceptional yet relatively unknown African-American funk musician. Pulling from retro 70’s sounds, Troy Kingi and his band The Clutch bring to life a character inspired by his missing father and the music discovered on this mysterious tape. 

“Freddie Cesar gave me the memory blueprints or the spiritual blueprints for these waiata. And this particular one, I don’t 100% know what it’s about, but I feel like it’s about seeing your dreams pass you by, and not being able to retrieve them, but remembering you still have love for your whānau and love for your children and that’s enough purpose.” 

On the song, 'All Your Ships Have Sailed", Kingi told RNZin 2020 that "part of the song is mine," about his children. "Maybe it's a bit daddyish. I don't know if that song fits with the rest of the story, but I wanted to say it. "The rest of the song sounds like a drug deal is going down on a corner, but I added the bit about myself to give a reason for why he's doing drug deals; to support his family."

“I’m humbled and honoured to receive this award. Thank you to APRA and the wider community for allowing it so, for deciding I was worthy of this award. Much gratitude.” 

It is the third time Troy has been a top five finalist for the Silver Scroll Award | Kaitito Kaiaka, and the win (which is decided by votes from APRA members) is a wonderful acknowledgment from his songwriting peers on the impact of his work. It recognises his outstanding work, and will see his name engraved alongside other Aotearoa musical luminaries like Aldous Harding, Marlon Williams, Bic Runga, Ruban and Kody Nielson, Scribe and P Money, Chris Knox, Dave Dobbyn, and Shona Laing.

A special version of the song was performed by Dival Mahal and a band of nine wāhine toa to mark tonight's win.

Maisey Rika (Te Whānau-a-Apanui) and Seth Haapu (Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Te Atihaunui a Pāpārangi) were recieved the Maioha Award for 'Waitī Waitā' from Rika's album Ngā Mata o te Ariki Tāwhirimatea. The waiata spotlights Waitī and Waitā, two stars that form part of the Matariki cluster, expressing their connection with each other and tangata whenua. 

Rika's song Hiwa-i-te-rangi was also in the running for the top award, which was the first time in 26 years a bilingual song had been included in the top five finalists. 

David Donaldson, Janet Roddick, and Steve Roche, who also perform as Plan 9, took out the 2021 SOUNZ Contemporary Award for 'The Bewilderness'. The Wellington-based trio released their album of the same name in June 2021 in response to the strangeness of Lockdowns and Covid, and the moments of calm amidst the ongoing chaos and displacement. 

Composer Arli Liberman's work in Sam Kelly's movie 'Savage' and New Zealand/Swedish composer Karl Steven's arrangements for a five-part fictionalised story about the Bain family, 'Black Hands', both got a 'nod' in the awards. 

All winners and finalists of 2021 APRA Silver Scroll Award:
Winner: Troy Kingi - All Your Ships Have Sailed
Maisey Rika - Hiwa-i-te-rangi
The Beths - Jump Rope Gazers
Anthonie Tonnon - Leave Love Out Of This
Tipene - Turangawaewae 

 2021 APRA Maioha Award 
 Winner: Maisey Rika and Seth Haapu - Waitī WaitāHaami - He AioMara TK - Toroa 2021 

SOUNZ Contemporary Award 
Winner: The Bewilderness by Plan 9 (David Donaldson, Janet Roddick, Steve Roche)
So flamed in the air by Neville HallKlein Fountain by Reuben Jelleyman 

APRA Best Original Music in a Film 
Winner: Arli Liberman for Savage
Ewan Clarke for The Turn of the Screw
Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper for Shadow in the Cloud 

APRA Best Original Music in a Series 
Winner: Karl Steven for Black HandsRhian Sheehan for The SoundsTom McLeod for Fight for the Wild

The full Top 20 list was chosen from over 250 entries by a judging panel of 10 fellow songwriters, who have each made wonderful contributions to the NZ music community. 

The judging panel were (in alphabetical order): Anji Sami (She’s So Rad), Finn Andrews (The Veils), Hollie Fullbrook (Tiny Ruins), Marika Hodgson (Sorrento, Troy Kingi, Kora, Teeks), Natalia Sheppard (MC Tali), Phil Bell (DJ Sir-Vere), Sarena Close (Mousey), Sean Donnelly (SJD), Tom Scott (Avantdale Bowling Club), and Tyna Keelan. 

2021 APRA Silver Scroll Award Top 20

'All Your Ships Have Sailed', written and performed by Troy Kingi (Published by Loop Publishing | Kobalt Music Publishing Australia)

'Anna (On My Life)', written and performed by Adam Tukiri and Rizván Tu'itahi

'BATHSALTS', written by Clark Mathews, Daniel Vernon, Christan Pianta, Hakopa Kuka-Larsen, performed by DARTZBrains, written by Madeline Bradley, performed by deryk

'Broken Chains', written by Tyree Tautogia*, Sidney Diamond*, Fred Fa'afou*, Ché Ness, Willie Tafa, Solo Tohi, Wasim A. Hussain, Darryl Thompson, Angus McNaughton, performed by Smashproof (*Published by Woodcut Productions)

'Don't Run', written by Sid Diamond* and Nathan King, performed by Sid Diamond (*Published by Woodcut Productions)

'Dragon Fruit (Feat. Louis Baker), written by Tony Sihamau, Lance Fepuleai, Harry Huavi, Louis Baker, performed by Team Dynamite featuring Louis Baker

'Guilty Love', written by Phillipa Brown*, Georgia Nott**, Tommy English***, performed by Ladyhawke and Broods (*Published by BMG Rights Management Australia, ** Third Side Music Inc |Gaga Music and ***Powerteam Tom Songs / These Are Pulse Songs (BMI). Administered worldwide by Concord Music Publishing | Native Tongue Music Publishing)

'Hey Mom', written and performed by Reb Fountain (Published by Native Tongue Music Publishing)

'Hiwa-i-te-rangi', written by Maisey Rika*, Callum Rei McDougall, Chris Chetland, performed by Maisey Rika (*Published by First Nation Music - Aotearoa)

'Jump Rope Gazers', written by Elizabeth Stokes*, Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair, Tristan Deck, performed by The Beths (*Published by Gaga Music obo Carpark Publishing)

'Laps Around The Sun', written by Mark Perkins, performed by Merk (Published by Native Tongue Music Publishing)

'Leave Love Out Of This', written by Anthonie Tonnon and Jonathan Pearce, performed by Anthonie Tonnon

'Lightswitch', written by Mona Sanei, Frank Eliesa, performed by CHAII (Published by Big Pop Music Publishing | BMG Rights Management Australia)

'No Flowers', written by Dallas Tamaira and Devin Abrams*, performed by Dallas Tamaira (*Published by Universal Music Publishing)

'Periphescence', written by Daniel McBride, performed by Sheep, Dog & Wolf

'Stand In', written by Deva Mahal and Aaron Livingston, performed by Deva Mahal

'Tangaroa', written by Henry de Jong, Lewis de Jong, Ethan Trembath, Niel de Jong, performed by Alien WeaponryTurangawaewae, written by Stephen Harmer, Maisey Rika, Troy Kingi, Tenei Kesha (10A), performed by Tipene, Troy Kingi, and Maisey Rika.

'Your Deodorant Doesn't Work', written by Stephanie Brown, James Fenimore Ikner, performed by Lips

For more information head over to APRA AMCOS NZ