Covid-19 Alert

NZ moves to the Traffic light system at 11:59pm on Thursday 2 December 2021 with Auckland at RED. The rest of New Zealand level is still to be decided.
Scan QR Codes & get your Vaccination Pass | Save Lives | Be Kind

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards Tomorrow Night!

The finalists for the 2018 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards (VNZMAs) have been announced, with four acts tied for the most nominations.

Alien Weaponry, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Six60 and Drax Project are all up for four awards each at the big night on November 15.

Other artists with multiple nominations include Kimbra, Julia Deans, Marlon Williams, JessB, Sons of Zion, Tami Neilson, Robinson and Katchafire.

Lorde and Broods, who dominated the 2017 and 2016 VNZMAs respectively, aren't nominated this year as they haven't released any new music.

For the first time, all finalists are eligible for the People's Choice Award, which is set to open to the public soon.

Sadly missing from the list below is the best Jazz album.  Last year this wasn't presented until the NZ Festival of The Arts, over 6 months later.  We may have to wait for next year's Jazz Festival, in winter, to find out who won for 2018.

Watch the awards live on TV3 at 8.30PM

The full list of main nominees is as follows:

Album of the Year
Alien Weaponry - Tū
Julia Deans - We Light Fire
Marlon Williams - Make Way For Love
Six60 - Six60
Tami Neilson - Sassafrass!
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Sex & Food

Alien Weaponry
Vodafone Single of the Year
Drax Project - 'Woke Up Late'
Mitch James - '21'
Robinson - 'Nothing To Regret'
Six60 - 'Don't Give It Up'
Sons Of Zion - 'Drift Away'
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - 'Hunnybee'

Best Group
Alien Weaponry - Tū
Drax Project - Noon
Six60 - Six60
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Sex & Food

THREE Best Solo Artist
Julia Deans - We Light Fire
Kimbra - Primal Heart
Marlon Williams - Make Way For Love
Tami Neilson - Sassafrass!

Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Drax Project

Te Māngai Pāho Best Māori Artist
Alien Weaponry
Troy Kingi

The Edge Best Pop Artist
Drax Project

Best Alternative Artist
Marlon Williams
Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Wax Chattels
Marlon Williams

Best Soul/RnB Artist
Israel Starr
Troy Kingi
Vince Harder

Best Hip Hop Artist

Best Roots Artist
Sons of Zion
Tomorrow People

Best Electronic Artist
Arma Del Amor
Boy Crush
Best Rock Artist
Alien Weaponry
Cairo Knife Fight
Skinny Hobos

Best Worship Artist
EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth Choir
Equippers Revolution
Kane Adams

Best Classical Artist
Eve de Castro Robinson
Henry Wong Doe
Michael Houstoun

Other Tuis to be given out on the night include the Vodafone People's Choice Award, Recorded Music NZ Legacy Award, Vodafone Highest Selling Single, Highest Selling Album, NZ On Air Radio Airplay Record of the Year and International Achievement.

The ceremony will take place at Auckland's Spark Arena, and feature live performances from some of the nominees.

No comments: